Whether you are considering buying your first property or another for a bigger one, there a many expenses over and above the purchase price that you need to plan for right from the moment you start looking for a property. These additional costs can take you by surprise if you are not well informed and prepared to deal with them.

Some of these costs are to be paid only once while others might be on a monthly or annual basis, and are over the ones you expected to pay. These costs do not apply to all situations but it’s better to know what they are ahead of time in order to prepare a realistic budget.

Remember that buying a property will constitute the central point of your financial situation. Several details must be considered all along the process. The last things you need are unplanned expenses that are revealed to you too late in the process, meaning at the moment of taking possession of your new property.

Read the list of the following items and make sure you include everything in your budget.

Evaluation fees

The lending institution will probably ask for the property evaluation you wish to buy and you will have to pay these fees. The cost of such an evaluation varies according to the kind of property.

Taxes

According to the amount of cash you will put down, the lending institution might decide to add the amount of property taxes (municipal and school) to your mortgage payment.

Land surveying fees

When you buy an existing property, the bank can require an updated version of the certificate of location. If your offer to purchase did not already include it as being the responsibility of the seller, you will have to pay fees ranging from $700 to $800 for such a document.

Insurance for the property

Insurance covers the reconstruction of the property (replacement value) in case of destruction and covers the contents (theft and fire). Your lending institution will require proof of insurance before releasing the funds for the signature at the notary.

Legal fees

Even the simplest transaction must be duly signed at the notary and registered at the Publicity of Rights Office. Inform yourself about the fees charged by various notaries. Costs will vary based on the complexity of the file and the services offered by the notary.

Mortgage insurance fees

If you do not deposit the required minimum amount in cash to get a “conventional” loan from the bank you will have to pay an insurance premium. This premium represents from 0.5% to 3.5% of the total amount of the mortgage. Payments of the premium are usually added to your monthly payment.

Mortgage brokerage fees

A mortgage broker has the right to require to be compensated for analyzing various offers from lending institutions. However, many brokers will offer this service for free because they are compensated by the lending institution.  In particular, for a building with income residential occupy by the owner.

Condo fees

The co-owners must pay monthly fees for the maintenance of common spaces, stairs, landscaping, snow removal, etc. These costs vary according to the property and the decisions of the co-property syndicate.

Infrastructures

It is important to know if a special tax relating to exceptional infrastructure expenses (sidewalks, aqueduct, sewers, paving) will apply to the property you’re interested in buying. These infrastructure fees might amount to thousands of dollars in addition to municipal taxes for a predetermined number of years.

Transfer tax and others

This tax applies evenly in all municipalities for the transfer of title to property, whether for a property or for land. Commonly referred to as a “welcome tax”, it must be paid within three months of the signature. In some municipalities and in some circumstances, a “green tax” can apply for an important expansion requiring a new cadastre.

128 queries in 0.636 seconds.
About this site
Tools

Que vous envisagiez d’acheter votre première propriété ou une deuxième, il y a plusieurs dépenses s’ajoutant au prix de vente que vous devez planifier au moment même de commencer votre recherche. Ces coûts supplémentaires peuvent vous prendre par surprise si vous n’êtes pas bien informés et préparés à ces éventualités.

Certains de ces frais se paient une seule fois et d’autres représentent un engagement mensuel ou annuel qui s’ajoute à ce que vous aviez prévu. Tous ces coûts ne s’appliquent pas dans toutes les situations mais il vaut mieux les connaître à l’avance pour pouvoir établir un budget réaliste.

Rappelez-vous qu’acheter une propriété constitue un élément central de votre portrait financier. Plusieurs détails doivent être considérés durant tout le processus. La dernière chose dont vous avez besoin, ce sont des dépenses non planifiées qui vous seraient révélées trop tard, c’est-à-dire au moment de la prise de possession de votre nouvelle propriété.

Lire la liste des éléments qui suit et assurez-vous d’avoir bien budgété.

Frais d’évaluation

L’institution prêteuse va probablement demander une évaluation de la propriété que vous convoitez et les frais vous seront facturés. Le prix de cette évaluation varie selon le genre de propriété.

Impôts fonciers

En fonction du comptant que vous donnerez, l’institution prêteuse peut décider d’ajouter le paiement des impôts fonciers (municipal et scolaire) à votre paiement hypothécaire.

Frais d’arpentage

Quand vous achetez une propriété existante, la banque pourra exiger un certificat de localisation mis à jour. À moins que votre promesse d’achat ne l’ait déjà inclus comme responsabilité du vendeur, vous devrez débourser entre 700$ et 800$ pour un tel document.

Assurance de la propriété

L’assurance couvre la reconstruction de l’immeuble (valeur de remplacement) en cas de destruction et assure le contenu (feu et vol). Votre institution prêteuse exigera une preuve d’assurance avant de libérer les fonds pour la signature chez le notaire.

Frais légaux

Même la transaction la plus simple soit être dûment signée chez un notaire et enregistrée au Bureau de la Publicité des Droits Immobiliers. Informez-vous des tarifs pratiqués par différents notaires. Les coûts varieront selon la complexité du dossier et les services offerts par le notaire.

Frais de l’assurance hypothécaire

Si vous n’avez pas le pourcentage de comptant minimum requis pour obtenir de votre banque un prêt dit «conventionnel», vous devrez payer une prime d’assurance à cet effet. Cela représente entre 0.5 et 3.5% du montant total de l’hypothèque. Les paiements sont généralement ajoutés à votre versement mensuel.

Frais de courtage hypothécaire

Un courtier hypothécaire a le droit d’exiger des frais pour son travail de démarchage auprès de différentes institutions prêteuses. Cependant, plusieurs courtiers vous accorderont gratuitement leurs services puisque l’institution prêteuse paiera leurs honoraires. Notamment pour un propriétaire occupant d’un immeuble à revenus résidentiel.

Frais de condo

Les copropriétaires doivent débourser des frais mensuels pour l’entretien des espaces communs, escaliers, paysagement, déneigement, etc. Ces frais varient selon le type d’immeuble et les décisions de chaque Syndicat de copropriété.

Infrastructures

Il est important de s’informer si une taxe spéciale, concernant des dépenses exceptionnelles d’infrastructures (trottoirs, aqueduc, égouts, asphaltage), s’applique à la propriété qui vous intéresse. Ces dépenses d’infrastructures peuvent représenter des milliers de dollars qui s’ajoutent au compte de taxe municipal pour un nombre d’années prédéterminé.

Taxes de mutation et autres

Cette taxe s’applique uniformément dans toutes les municipalités sur le transfert d’un titre de propriété, que ce soit un édifice ou un terrain. Communément appelée «taxe de bienvenue», elle doit être acquittée dans les trois mois de la signature. Dans certaines municipalités et en certaines circonstances, une «taxe verte» peut s’appliquer dans le cas d’un agrandissement important exigeant un nouveau cadastre.

129 queries in 0,808 seconds.
À propos de ce site
Outils